From Emotions to Advocacy, ... reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 13 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Perfect resource (5/5) May 17, 2010 Anonymous
  This book taught me how to talk to school personnel and to be completely organized and prepared at my IEP meeting. Not only did the advise in the book make things easier to find for reference at the meeting, but it also gave me the courage and confidence to stand up to the learning impairment teacher, who has always just bullied me into agreement with her in the past. Thank you very much for the much needed guidance in my struggles.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Ann Rose CT
  I am a special education attorney and the mother of two children with disabilities. This book is the best I have ever come across to inform parents of best advocacy strategies. I recommend it to ALL my clients and friends. It covers everything from applicable law, interpreting complicated standardized testing scores, effective advocacy with different personality types, and MOST IMPORTANTLY how to remain collaborative and cooperative with the School District.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Carrie E. Polete
  As a parent of a child with a disability, adding the word "advocate" to the many other hats that I have to wear is not appealing. However, reading this book gave me a clear path to follow in this endeavor. It is filled with practical advice that is simple to implement. It is easy to read.
Senior Manager of LD OnLine (5/5) Apr 8, 2008 Dale Brown Arlington VA US
  Beyond this, Id again recommend the book From Emotion to Advocacy, by Pam and Pete Wright. Everyone Ive loaned this book to has come back and written me a check asking to keep it. Its that helpful.
From Emotions to Advocacy (5/5) Feb 16, 2010 Frances Thompson Lynnwood WA US
  A must have book for the parents who have IEP children. Very informative and clearly step by step guide through for any stage that needs.

Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Gina Goff Cleveland NC
  This book provides much needed information for parents when dealing with the school system. Any parent with a special needs child or who suspects they have a special needs child should read this book for valuable information which is needed to communicate effectively with your child's school in order to benefit the child.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Glori NJ
  This book is amazing..I am so glad I bought it..It has lots and lots of info very useful for new special ed parents or seasoned ones...Highly recommend anything by these authors!!! Buy it!!!
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Jackie Igafo Teo Jackson MI
  I have used this book on many occasions when preparing for IEPs for my own son and to give other parents pointers on dealing with issues that arise often in a child's education. The Wrights are not only very amazing people, they know first-hand what it is like to experience what the education system looks like from the parent's perspective.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Joan Long Island NY
  I've been involved in advocating for my special needs son for 14 years and this is the BEST book I've ever read on the subject. A real "how-to." I just walked away from an IEP meeting with MORE than I asked for and it all happened in less than an hour. I was SO prepared. In particular, the chapter on the Rule of Adverse Assumptions helped me prepare. Thanks to this book, I had the confidence and the information that allowed me to effectively go to bat for our son.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 K. Dolan Boston MA
  I wish I had read this 2 years ago!! This is a great resource for any and all parents who are fighting the special education maze. It gives great advice and practical strategies on how to approach team meeting and not let them railroad you. They also provide great tips on creating your own file on your child and how to effectively write letters. This is a must have for any parent with a child in special education.

Back to previous page

1 2