From Emotions to Advocacy, ... reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 15 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
A must for any parent who has a child with a disability (5/5) Apr 15, 2015 B. Robin
  "The book is very detailed; it takes you step-by-step through the process of helping your child with a disability. It also empowers you to take the steps that are necessary for you to make certain that your child receives an appropriate education." Read all Amazon reviews!
Five Stars (5/5) Apr 15, 2015 A. Padilla
  "Exactly what we were looking for." Read more reviews on Amazon!
Perfect resource (5/5) May 17, 2010 Anonymous
  This book taught me how to talk to school personnel and to be completely organized and prepared at my IEP meeting. Not only did the advise in the book make things easier to find for reference at the meeting, but it also gave me the courage and confidence to stand up to the learning impairment teacher, who has always just bullied me into agreement with her in the past. Thank you very much for the much needed guidance in my struggles.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Ann Rose CT
  I am a special education attorney and the mother of two children with disabilities. This book is the best I have ever come across to inform parents of best advocacy strategies. I recommend it to ALL my clients and friends. It covers everything from applicable law, interpreting complicated standardized testing scores, effective advocacy with different personality types, and MOST IMPORTANTLY how to remain collaborative and cooperative with the School District.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Carrie E. Polete
  As a parent of a child with a disability, adding the word "advocate" to the many other hats that I have to wear is not appealing. However, reading this book gave me a clear path to follow in this endeavor. It is filled with practical advice that is simple to implement. It is easy to read.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Glori NJ
  This book is amazing..I am so glad I bought it..It has lots and lots of info very useful for new special ed parents or seasoned ones...Highly recommend anything by these authors!!! Buy it!!!
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 M. Meszaros
  I didn't know anything about my rights for my daughter. Parents to play an active role in their children's rights. This book will give you all you need and a lot more. If you need somewhere to start this is it.
Senior Manager of LD OnLine (5/5) Apr 8, 2008 Dale Brown Arlington VA US
  Beyond this, Id again recommend the book From Emotion to Advocacy, by Pam and Pete Wright. Everyone Ive loaned this book to has come back and written me a check asking to keep it. Its that helpful.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 K. Dolan Boston MA
  I wish I had read this 2 years ago!! This is a great resource for any and all parents who are fighting the special education maze. It gives great advice and practical strategies on how to approach team meeting and not let them railroad you. They also provide great tips on creating your own file on your child and how to effectively write letters. This is a must have for any parent with a child in special education.
Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy, 2nd Edition (5/5) Dec 14, 2007 Gina Goff Cleveland NC
  This book provides much needed information for parents when dealing with the school system. Any parent with a special needs child or who suspects they have a special needs child should read this book for valuable information which is needed to communicate effectively with your child's school in order to benefit the child.

Back to previous page

1 2